RPI logo
The Regulatory Policy Institute (RPI) is an independent, charitable organisation dedicated to the study of regulation and deregulation.
Organisation & people

The RPI is a not-for-profit company, limited by guarantee, and a registered charity. It is governed by a Council of Management, which acts as the Board of Directors under UK company law and the Board of Trustees under charity law. Operational decisions are delegated to a Director, based at offices in central Oxford, UK. The Oxford staff is at the centre of a much larger network of members and supporters.

Julia Gibert, Associate Director. Contact Julia
Kerry Whitelegg, Events Co-ordinator. Contact Kerry

Council of Management

Sonia Brown (Chairman)
Visa Europe.

Philip Davies

Gordon Downie
Shepherd and Wedderburn

David Gray
Mutual Energy

Eileen Marshall

Steve Smith
Director, Retail Competition & Regulatory Strategy, Lloyds Banking Group.

Prof George Yarrow
Emeritus Fellow, Hertford College, Oxford, and Visiting Professor, Newcastle University Business School.

RPI Distinguished Fellows

Sir Ian Byatt
Sir Ian Byatt is Chairman of the Water Industry Commission for Scotland (2005-present), and Chairman of the Trustees of David Hume Institute in Edinburgh (2008-). He has been an Honorary Professor at Birmingham University since 2003, and an Honorary Fellow of St. Edmund Hall, University of Oxford, since 2007. In 2004, he was appointed a Member of the International Advisory Committee of Public Utilities Research Center, University of Florida. Sir Ian was Director General of Water Services (Ofwat) from 1989 to 2000. Prior to this, he was Deputy Chief Economic Adviser at HM Treasury (1978 - 1989). He was a Member of the Economic Policy Committee of European Communities from 1978 to 1989, and held the Chair from 1982-85. He is author of British Electrical Industry 1975 - 1914 (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1979) and Accounting for Economic Costs and Changing Prices (HM Treasury, 1986).

Sir Bryan Carsberg
Sir Bryan Carsberg is Chairman of the Council of Loughborough University. He undertook a study of the regulatory procedures of RICS in 2005 and of the residential property market in 2007-08. He is a non-executive director of RM plc., Novae Group plc., Inmarsat plc., a member of British Telecom's Equality of Access Board and President of Locus, the trade association for users of public sector information. He was the first Director General of Telecommunications (head of Oftel, the non-ministerial government department formed to regulate the UK telecoms sector following the privatisation of BT) from 1984 to 1992, Director General of Fair Trading (1992 - 95) and Secretary General of the International Accounting Standards Committee (predecessor of the International Accounting Standards Board (1995-2001). He was an independent, non-executive director of Cable and Wireless Communications plc. (1997-2000) and non-executive Chairman of MLL Telecom Ltd. (1999-2002). Sir Bryan was Professor of Accounting at the University of Manchester (1969-81) and Professor of Accounting at the London School of Economics (1981-84). He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, and an Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries; he was knighted in January 1989. He holds an M.Sc.(Econ) from the University of London (London School of Economics).

Peter Freeman

Professor Fred Hilmer AO
President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of New South Wales

Prof Stephen Littlechild
Stephen Littlechild is an intellectual pioneer in the privatization and regulation areas of public policy, and was the first Director General of Electricity Supply in Great Britain. For more information about his past and current work, see his Electricity Policy Research Group page at the University of Cambridge.

Eileen Marshall

Sir Callum McCarthy

Clare Spottiswoode

Sir John Vickers
Sir John Vickers has been Warden of All Souls College since October 2008. He studied PPE at Oxford University, where, after a period working in the oil industry, he taught economics and was Drummond Professor of Political Economy from 1991 to 2008. He was Chief Economist at the Bank of England and a member of the Monetary Policy Committee 1998-2000; Director General/Chairman of the Office of Fair Trading 2000-05; President of the Royal Economic Society 2007-10; and Chair of the Independent Commission on Banking 2010-11. His research interests, which combine theory and policy, mainly concern competition and regulation.